Pakistan Squad For Tour Of New Zealand Announced

Pakistan Cricket Team 35 Member Squad Announced For Tour Of New Zealand.  Pakistan Vs New Zealand First T20 Will Get Played On 18 December 2020. This 35 Member Squad Also Contains Players For Pakistan Shaheens (Pakistan A) Which Is Also Touring New Zealand At The Same Time.

Pakistan Chief Selevtor Misbah Ul Haq Has Announced The The Team For Test And T20I Series In New Zealand. Babar Azam Who Was Named As Captain Of Test Team Yesterday Will Lead The Pakistan Cricket Team Across All Three Formats In New Zealand.

Announcing The Squad Of Pakistan Misbah Ul Haq Said:

“These unprecedented Covid-19 times provide a unique opportunity to some of the most talented and best domestic performers to represent the national and Shaheens squads against a quality opposition such as New Zealand, gain valuable experience and exposure, and further improve their skills so that they can strengthen their claims for international call-ups.

“This tour schedule has been designed in such a way that we play tough intra-squad matches in the lead up to international matches and compensate for the local oppositions. While the national side will be involved in one format, Shaheens will be in action in the other format. This means all the players will be busy and playing competitive cricket.”


“The matches in New Zealand are critical for us as we aim to improve our T20I rankings and also gain valuable points in the ICC World Test Championship. In this background and taking into consideration recent player performances, we have selected the best available players.


“I want to congratulate uncapped Amad Butt, Danish Aziz, Imran Butt and Rohail Nazir who have impressed the selectors with their form, technique, temperament and ability to secure places in the 35-player pool. However, these four players are amongst some other players who have been selected specifically for Shaheens as part of our strategy to build our bench strength.


“There are three major omissions from the side that toured England. Asad Shafiq has been left out due to lack of form after he managed 510 runs in his last 15 innings, including a total of 67 runs in England. Asad is an experienced batsman and I am sure he will utilise this time to work harder on his game in the domestic first-class matches so that he, like Sarfaraz Ahmed, can reclaim his form and be back in contention for the upcoming Tests against South Africa and Zimbabwe.


“Shoaib Malik and Mohammad Amir are not part of the white-ball matches as for this tour we have opted to invest, develop and focus on the promising and emerging players who are likely to be available to Pakistan for all formats.


“We have kept faith in Mohammad Hafeez and Wahab Riaz purely on the basis of their outstanding and consistent performances as well as the value they bring to the T20I squad.


“The ongoing domestic season has produced three highly impressive and consistent spinners in Nauman Ali, Sajid Khan and Zahid Mahmood. Unfortunately, due to New Zealand government regulations as part of their Covid-19 travel requirements, we had to provide a provisional list of 45 players to New Zealand Cricket by 12 October and, as such, these players missed out because at that time, the National T20 Cup was ongoing while the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy had not commenced.


“However, the positive side is we are now developing a strong pool of top-quality spinners who will challenge each other for places in the national sides that, in turn, will help in the overall performances in the sides.”


Pakistan v New Zealand Schedule

18 Dec – 1st T20I, Eden Park, Auckland

20 Dec – 2nd T20I, Seddon Park, Hamilton

22 Dec – 3rd T20I, McLean Park, Napier

26-30 Dec – 1st Test, Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui

3-7 Jan – 2nd Test, Hagley Oval, Christchurch



Pakistan 35 Player Squad

Openers (six): Abid Ali, Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Shan Masood and Zeeshan Malik

Middle-order batsmen (11): Babar Azam (captain), Azhar Ali, Danish Aziz, Fawad Alam, Haider Ali (Shaheens vice-captain), Haris Sohail, Hussain Talat, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imran Butt, Khushdil Shah and Mohammad Hafeez.

Wicketkeepers (three): Mohammad Rizwan (Vice-Captain, Tests), Rohail Nazir (Shaheens Captain) and Sarfaraz Ahmed

Spinners (five): Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan (Vice-Captain, T20Is), Usman Qadir, Yasir Shah and Zafar Gohar

Fast bowlers (10): Amad Butt, Faheem Ashraf, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Abbas, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Musa, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Sohail Khan and Wahab Riaz.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here