Connect with us


BCCI Announces Squads for South Africa Tour: A Comprehensive Overview



BCCI Announces Squads for South Africa Tour

BCCI Announces Squads for South Africa Tour: A Comprehensive Overview

The excitement is building up as Team India gears up for a challenging tour of South Africa, scheduled to commence on December 10 and run until January 7, 2024. The tour includes a mix of T20 Internationals, ODI Internationals, and Test matches, with the anticipation of a thrilling series against South Africa.

Let’s delve into the squads announced by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) for the T20, ODI, and Test formats, highlighting key players and strategic decisions.

T20 International Squad:

Captain: Suryakumar Yadav
Vice Captain: Ravindra Jadeja

Position Player Role Captain Vice Captain
1 Yashasvi Jaiswal Batsman Suryakumar Yadav Ravindra Jadeja
2 Shubh Mangal Rituraj Gaikwad Batsman
3 Tilak Verma Batsman
4 Suryakumar Yadav Batsman/All-Rounder
5 Rinku Singh Batsman/All-Rounder
6 Shreyas Iyer Batsman/All-Rounder
7 Ishan Kishan Wicketkeeper/Batsman
8 Jitesh Sharma Wicketkeeper
9 Ravindra Jadeja All-Rounder
10 Washington Sundar All-Rounder
11 Ravi Bishnoi Bowler
12 Kuldeep Yadav Bowler
13 Harshdeep Singh Bowler
14 Mohammad Siraj Bowler
15 Mukesh Kumar Bowler
16 Deepak Chauhan Bowler

The T20 squad comprises 17 players, featuring the explosive batting talents of Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubh Mangal Rituraj Gaikwad, and the captain himself, Suryakumar Yadav. Notable inclusions are Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, and Ishan Kishan as the wicketkeeper. The bowling department is bolstered by the likes of Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Harshdeep Singh, Mohammad Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, and Deepak Chauhan.

Interestingly, Rohit Sharma, a key figure in Indian cricket, is absent from the T20 squad, and Suryakumar Yadav assumes captaincy with Ravindra Jadeja as vice-captain.

ODI Squad:

Captain: KL Rahul
Wicketkeeper: KL Rahul
Second Wicketkeeper: Sanju Samson

Position Player Role Captain Vice Captain
1 Rituraj Gaikwad Batsman KL Rahul
2 Sudarshan Tilak Verma Batsman
3 Rajat Patidar Batsman
4 Rinku Singh Batsman/All-Rounder
5 Shreyas Iyer Batsman/All-Rounder
6 KL Rahul Wicketkeeper/Batsman KL Rahul
7 Sanju Samson Wicketkeeper/Batsman
8 Akshar Patel All-Rounder
9 Washington Sundar All-Rounder
10 Kuldeep Yadav Bowler
11 Yuzvendra Chahal Bowler
12 Mukesh Kumar Bowler
13 Avesh Khan Bowler
14 Arshdeep Singh Bowler
15 Deepak Chahar Bowler

The ODI squad witnesses several changes post the recently concluded ODI World Cup. Notable inclusions are Rituraj Gaikwad, Sudarshan Tilak Verma, and Rajat Patidar. KL Rahul takes over the captaincy reins, and Sanju Samson, who was absent during the T20 focus year, makes a return.

Surprisingly, experienced players like Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, and Mohammed Shami are given a rest, reflecting a strategic decision by the selectors.

Test Squad:

Captain: Rohit Sharma
Vice Captain: Jasprit Bumrah

Position Player Role Captain Vice Captain
1 Rohit Sharma Batsman Rohit Sharma
2 Shubman Gill Batsman
3 Yashasvi Jaiswal Batsman
4 Virat Kohli Batsman
5 Shreyas Iyer Batsman/All-Rounder
6 Rituraj Gaikwad Batsman
7 Ishan Kishan Batsman
8 KL Rahul (Wk) Wicketkeeper/Batsman
9 Ravichandran Ashwin All-Rounder
10 Ravindra Jadeja All-Rounder
11 Shardul Thakur Bowler
12 Mohammed Siraj Bowler
13 Mukesh Kumar Bowler
14 Mohammed Shami Bowler
15 Jasprit Bumrah Bowler Jasprit Bumrah
16 Prasidh Krishna Bowler

The Test squad boasts a formidable lineup with the return of Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, and the inclusion of talented youngsters like Yashasvi Jaiswal and Rituraj Gaikwad. KL Rahul dons the wicketkeeping gloves, and the squad features a strong bowling attack led by Jasprit Bumrah as vice-captain, along with the experienced Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja.

A notable mention is the absence of Mohammed Shami due to ongoing medical treatment, emphasizing the priority of player fitness in the selection process.

Overall Observations:

The selection of squads for the South Africa tour is marked by a blend of experienced campaigners and promising youngsters. The absence of stalwarts like Rohit Sharma in the T20 squad and Virat Kohli in the ODI squad reflects a strategic approach by the BCCI, possibly to provide rest and manage workloads ahead of the crucial T20 World Cup in Year 2.

The captaincy dynamics are intriguing, with Suryakumar Yadav leading the T20 side, KL Rahul taking charge in ODIs, and Rohit Sharma steering the Test team. The inclusion of Sanju Samson in the ODI squad after missing T20 competitions adds an interesting twist, emphasizing the dynamic nature of team selections.

As the cricketing world eagerly awaits the action-packed series, fans and pundits alike will closely monitor the performance of the chosen players and the strategic decisions made by the BCCI. The tour promises a thrilling spectacle, setting the stage for an eventful cricketing season ahead.

Captaincy Change and the Virat Dilemma

Continue Reading
1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Decoding The Virat Kohli Dilemma: Is Strike Rate The Sole Criterion For T20 World Cup Selection? » Cricjaffa

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2022 CricJaffa, Powered by